Lent Post 27: See the Chair, Don’t be the Chair

Tatyana Mcfadden in a race

This piece¬†was inspired by my wheelchair. It’s a very real thing, and sometimes it even makes a good analogy for social relationships! This piece is a part of my book The Gimpy Monologues. If you like this one, consider giving the book a shot.

See the chair?
Don’t be the chair.
There are many ways to take that
It’s confusing I know
it helps me get around
but some doors I can’t go through
doors both imaginary and real
barriers of life, love, and liberty
see the chair
recognize the difference
don’t be the chair
the thing that inhibits
be the chair
the thing that helps you move
and explore the world around me
until I can get into a vivacious groove
see the chair,
don’t be the chair
the hesitation and limitation
be instead
the mode of support and exploration

Leave a Reply

