Lent Post #7: Child of the Cosmos

Child of the Cosmos

For any of you who have ever developed the practice of meditation, this piece was partly inspired by one of those moments where no matter what I was thinking about everything just seemed to make sense. The other portion of the inspiration was drawn from Carl Sagan’s immense capacity to be an ambassador of scientific knowledge to the public while still managing to be one of the best storytellers I’ve ever come across. To me, this piece expresses our hope that humans will begin to recognize that we are not something separate from the planet, but part of it. It sustains us, and through cultivated conscious awareness, we can become the stewards we need to be in order to sustain it in return.

I remember…
I remember when I was a child of the cosmos.
I nestled myself in the womb of the universe,
And I felt the pulsing of the stars, of an unborn humanity.
I watched as a child like species emerged from the mud, to walk upright.
My cosmic soul brimming with hope and expectation.
I remember…
I remember when I was a child of the cosmos,
I remember feeling lonely,
Wandering the landless sea of unexplored space.
I chose to come here,
To this pale blue dot, that third rock from the sun;
A fellow child of the cosmos that I decided to call home.
I remember crying star-lit tears,
As I watched humanity continually tear itself apart.
The chief victim of a great forgetting,
I told you once that I remember…
I remember being a child of the cosmos.
I nestled myself in the womb of the universe,
And I felt the pulsing of the stars,
The stars of an unborn humanity.
And I’m here to remind you, that you, every man, woman, child, and every being…
I felt your heart beat in the womb of the universe…
Each and every one of us is, a child of the cosmos

Leave a Reply

