Lent Post #3: Lines

I was debating whether or not I should include this piece because it’s cheating in a way. I wrote this a little over a year ago now, right after my grandma’s funeral. So in that sense, I didn’t write this recently. At the same time, though, she has always been one of the most important people to me, and I think that keeping her memory alive in my heart is something that is worth doing during this period of Lent. I hope you get something out of reading it, as I did out of writing it.

The lines in your hand

Are like lines in the sand,

But not to create boundaries.

The lines in your hand

Are like lines in the sand.

I follow the creases and the crevices,

And use them as the molds to create my own foundry,

For the shape of my soul.

The lines in your hand

Are like lines in the sand.

I see your faded footprints in the sands of time

And I hope I can follow some of them,

And then make mine.

Life’s stones and pebbles are stuck to the soles of your feet;

At the end of our life’s journeys, again we will meet.

And I will see no more, the wounds life made

And at last, you will be complete.

Until then

The lines in your hand

Are like lines in the sand,

But not to create boundaries.

I follow the creases and the crevices,

And use them as the molds to create my own foundry;

For the shape of my soul.

Leave a Reply

