Confessions of a Closet Optimist: A Gimpy Monologue

I have a confession to make. People call me a cynic, they call me a pessimist. But it’s all a lie, I promise. Here’s the truth, I’ve been stuck in this chair my entire life. Yes, sometimes I get angry. Yes, sometimes it may seem to you like I lack compassion. You might talk to me, and you might find that all I seem to do is point out the flaws that exist within the heart of humankind. But there’s a reason for this, I’ve learned about our wars. I’ve learned about our conquests, our need for greed and the expansion of power, and in some instances I’ve seen what it can do firsthand. It tears me up inside think that it may be continuing well into my future, the future of my children, the future of my grandchildren, and even my great-grandchildren. I will point them out to you, the tragic flaws that lie within the heart filled with darkness, because I’ve learned one who really basic thing about people, it’s that we tend to think in terms of contrast and sameness. But here’s the thing about sameness, sameness breeds sameness. Not a desire for change. So I will point to the very darkest portion of your soul and make it bare, you will probably detest both it, as well as me. But from that point forward, it is my hope that you will see it for what it is and you will resist it with all of your mind, body, and soul.

If I were to write a book, I would write a book about every single war, every single case of Usery, and of lust, and of greed that I could fathom. And at the very end I would declare to you my dear readers, that I hope that one day such a book would no longer be necessary, and that with every fiber of my being I hope that I am is wrong is anyone could be about anything. I hope I’m wrong, and deep down inside I know we are better than that. Really, I am the secret optimist.

Leave a Reply

