Inside the Mind of Depression: A Gimpy Monologues Interlude

A mind in a CAGE
 
Not a VAT, stimulated by electrical impulses,
 
With overflowing euphoric humdrum sameness
 
Like a pliably pleasurable experience like The Matrix.
 
Instead, A cage of self-imposed bars of adamantium
 
An ACME anvil so heavy no Coyote could survive to catch that Road Runner.
 
A weight heavy enough to crush the most resilient of souls.
 
Even on the most beautiful of days, it keeps me chained,
 
Unable to think, unable to move, unable to DO.
 
Unable to even BELIEVE in myself.
 
Colors washed out with a dull film of gray, glittering to remind myself of the mythic beast
 
of “Happiness.”
 
I love my family… I love my LIFE!
 
But sometimes… Just sometimes…
 
For no reason, like phantom poison running through my veins.
 
I just want sleep, to rest forever.

 

2 thoughts on “Inside the Mind of Depression: A Gimpy Monologues Interlude”

Leave a Reply

