A Superhero like Me: A Gimpy Monologue

 

Superman (comic book)
Superman (comic book) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Look! Up in the sky! It’s a bird? It’s a plane? Wait, I don’t see anything. That’s because I’m down here. I may not be able to leap tall buildings in a single bound, but that’s mostly because my wheels can never leave the ground. Subject to this little thing we call gravity, just like everybody else. I don’t have heat vision, I can’t see through your clothes, but sometimes I wish I could. I said once that I wanted to be Superman… Still do, but not for the reasons you might imagine. Yes, flying would be amazing. Have you forgotten? We can do that with an airplane. Laserbeam eyes would be awesome too, but we have laser beams that can burn through just about anything. Scientists give those to us. So if I don’t want any of the powers, why would I want to be Superman? Because I wish I had his courage. The ability to fight for “truth, justice, and the American way”. Except, I think I would change that just a little bit. Think I would just fight for truth and justice, and it’s not just the American way, it should be the human way.

I want to stand up, even though my body forces me to stay seated. I don’t want to leap tall buildings in a single bound, I want to move hearts with a single word. I want people to know that I stand for something, I want people to remember that before there was Superman, there were always people, people we see as heroic, Supermen, and Wonderwomen. People who weren’t born on krypton, but nonetheless felt like wanderers in a strange land, trying to find their place in it. I am one of those people. And when I look out into the crowd, and I see all of you. I see a veritable ocean of hearts and minds at last, calm and engaged. I want to be the catalyst for your ripples, and invite you all to be a superhero like me.

3 thoughts on “A Superhero like Me: A Gimpy Monologue

  1. I never felt as much “super-hero” as I did when talking to a group of kindergartner’s. My wheelchair was as cool to them as Superman’s cape. “When I grow up, I want to have one” several of them declared. Kids are awesome!

  2. “I want to move hearts with a single word. I want people to know that I stand for something, I want people to remember that before there was Superman, there were always people, people we see as heroic”

    You are that Sage.

Leave a Reply

