Epileptic? Shamanistic?: A Gimpy Monologues

Flashing lights,
overstimulation

English: Shamanistic coat of Inuit
English: Shamanistic coat of Inuit (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
tremors and convulsions
some people call them seizures
misfiring neurons, like ill-timed fireworks on the fourth of July
sometimes, I remember visions
sometimes not
but I’m always tired
here, because of this “condition”
I can’t drive
I’m “disabled”
no one can tell
and sometimes I forget.
 
Flashing lights
overstimulation
tremors and convulsions?
No
a connection to the divine
I am a shaman
my dreams, my waking hours
a conversation with the ancestors
a communion with the gods
the world sees problems
I see solutions
a recollection of what is whole
I am enabled
respected, and revered
everyone sees me
and they know I see them
some call it a gift
some have a strange name for it
“epilepsy”
in either case
a part of life
2 thoughts on “Epileptic? Shamanistic?: A Gimpy Monologues”

Leave a Reply

