Not Who You Think I Am

39.365 #106 in explore !   fact:

I’m not who you think I am.

I’m not weak, or stupid, or useless, or pathetic.

I’m not your burden.

I’m not blind to your looks of pity.

Or to your embarrassment.

Or your pride.

I’m not afraid of the world.

I’m not desperate for your help.

But I do appreciate it.

I’m not my wheelchair.

I’m not miserable.

At least no more than you are.

I am tired of fighting to be seen.

I am stronger than you’ll ever realize.

I am also in more pain than I can describe.

I am alone in a lot of ways.

I have learned how to handle that.

I am smart.

I can be funny.

I can be fun.

I can also be a bitch.

I am aware that I can’t change how you see me.

But that doesn’t change who I am.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Published by

Captain Gimpy

An intellectual wanderer and cinema enthusiast. Ronald Brady (Captain Gimpy) has been a web designer, videographer and video editor who is currently taking deaf studies courses in the intention of parlaying them into a graduate degree in Disability Studies in the hopes of becoming a better advocate and a better human. He currently spends free time watching and reviewing films for his own cinephilic pleasure.

10 thoughts on “Not Who You Think I Am”

  1. Hi — I’m Megan, an editor for a new website called TheMighty.com, where we share and tell stories about people facing challenges, whether that be a disability, disease or disorder. I found your blog on Tumblr and it’s so powerful. I’d love to repost this entry on The Mighty if you’re interested. We’d link to your blog, of course. If you are, please shoot me an email at megan@themighty.com. Hope to hear from you. Either way, thanks for writing!

    Cheers,
    Megan

    Like

Leave a comment