Confidently Broken

A brilliant post by a brillianter writer than I. I posted this over the weekend, but no one noticed,  Click the link and give it a read. The hobbler at plays well with words, she be simply awesome.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Plays Well With Words

20140411-120306.jpg

My husband and I were talking the other day, and he mentioned that several positive experiences we have had within the past few years were an indirect of the confidence I’ve gained since being in a wheelchair.

Wait, confidence, from being in a wheelchair?

I had to think about it. I’ve always been insecure/low self-esteem/whatever.

When I first started needing assistance walking, it was difficult…ok, devastating. I cried a lot. I hated walking across an open room. I held on to walls for balance. I tried using a cane, but never was very good at it. Finally, I began to accept the fact that I needed a wheelchair.

When I first started using a wheelchair, I was a little self-conscious, but the ability to go from one side of my kids school to the other was nice. I didn’t have to constantly plan where I would sit, that was…

View original post 308 more words

Leave a Reply

