Gimpy Days: A Potential Gimpy Monologue

English: Barnstar for WikiProject Disability

I originally wrote this is a spoken word piece, I wanted to convey the fact that every day is definitely not a good day, as optimistic as many of us try to be. Not only do we have to contend with the normal emotional fluctuations that naturally come with life, but some physical ones as well. I’m thinking about adding this as a poetic piece to the show, what do you guys think? Comments welcome! Have an awesome day 🙂

Kitchen counters

Screaming kettles

Scalding burns

Pain, frustration, and spite reign supreme

Dull aching runs through my bones

Like a dam slowly breaking

A body like a prison

It has impulses of its own

Burdening my mind

For its lack of ease and fluidity

Differently abled my ass

That’s what it’s like on gimpy days

Living with a disability

Enhanced by Zemanta
16 thoughts on “Gimpy Days: A Potential Gimpy Monologue

  1. I think it’s good. You have a smart way of talking about daily “little things” and that will serve you well in writing 🙂

  2. I do have some of these, but I don’t know how much the audience will want to know about my personal life LOL 🙂 good point though, I do have some stories like that, I just haven’t quite figured out how to incorporate them into this project just yet… But I’m working on it… Thanks hobbler! 🙂

Leave a Reply

