Forgotten

This is the internationally recognized symbol ...
This is the internationally recognized symbol for accessibility (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is actually a piece that I had written some time ago, but I felt it wasn’t as well exposed, so I thought I’d give  it to you guys one more time this friday, maybe this will make it into the gimpy monologues also…

I belong to a land that time has long since forgotten,
a land filled with hospitals, metal cages, and rooms full of invalids.
I come from a life whose prognosis was always grim,
and now that things have changed,
I mingle amongst the people who think that I’ve lost my mind, that I am somehow deranged.
The metal cages are gone, the rooms full of invalids have disappeared,
and invisible walls have come to take their place.
Looked upon with a mild neglect, I have never found nor experienced true love.
The streets are filled with cut curbs and wider doors,
yet another poetic experience I will never have
the freedom of running across the British moors.
The people with the gift of sight refuse to truly see,
that I am one who comes from a land that time has long since forgotten.
They are stuck in the past,
with visions of the progress that has been made,
yet they have no vision of all that remains to be.
The ones who remained forgotten are the ones just like me.

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 thoughts on “Forgotten”

Leave a Reply

