In Remembrance of My Uncle

One month ago today, the world lost one of the most incredible human beings I’ve ever known, and in return and Angel was born. His name was Lardy Junior Cerezo. At first, I just wanted to write a poem to commemorate a man who I both loved deeply, and admired profoundly. And I have written a poem here, but before I get to that I would like to share with him, as well as you, some things I have learned on my brief journey in this life so far.

Bushido means the way of the warrior. It is about more than martial might, it is a way of being that also includes a gentleness of spirit. It means that word is bond; that which is spoken has been made real, and we must not deny that reality for we are all enlightened beings, each of us with the potential to create a piece of the reality we all share. The warrior stands up for what they believe in, they use their skill and their soul to defend those who cannot defend themselves, and a true warrior must always show compassion to those who are less fortunate. I learned that from him. The way of the warrior was something that one did not just in a karate class, but in the rest of life as well. That is what my Uncle Lardy did. A warrior loves as fiercely as he fights; my uncle was a warrior to the very end.

I like to think of the universe is a 12 string guitar, when the strings are plucked and strummed properly they create a melodic harmony, and when things are done in a completely haphazard manner, there is always the potential for discord. You can also extend that to a symphony. When each portion of the symphony simply plays the part that is given, the most beautiful of music is made. When one or more members deviate because they are unhappy, because they wish to be seen for their own merits rather than being part of a collective, the harmony is disrupted in the symphony ceases its melody. In this way, we are all special because we contribute to that wondrous symphony that is life. If we play the parts we are given and we play them with all our hearts our harmonic resonance will be felt the world over, and the world will sing again of love. Discord is sewn from selfishness, and my uncle was not a selfish person, he understood his part better than any of us did, and he played it with love. For this, I honor him. He taught me not to worry about the parts of the symphony that other people were given and to simply be okay with being me, and playing my part in the music of the universe. This is something I’m still working on, and while I can never play your song I pray that I create a song that harmonizes with yours.

Lastly, to my dearly departed uncle I would like to say thank you. You are one of the few people on this earth I felt truly understood me, and though I feel a great sorrow in missing you, I find joy and comfort the fact that you are finally free, free to show others your life and light. I will always remember everything that you taught me, and I will do that which you’ve requested of me; word is bond. I Love You Uncle Lardy.

They say that the brightest candles burn half as long,

In return however the light is twice as strong.

While on earth, you were losing limbs,

And your life was waning,

But wings and a golden halo you were gaining.

Samurai is a servant to one’s Lord,

I hope and pray that this was your reward.

A newly crowned Angel,

And a servant of God,

One with the universe,

It no longer seems odd .

Now you can see what I see,

And we share in the fight,

You can see all the tears in this world,

And try to make them right.

Sweet dreams my loving Uncle Lardy

Spread those angelic wings and fly,

For I know that we are forever connected,

And looked out for by God’s watchful eye.

I love you uncle. I will always carry you in my heart, and I will see you on the other side when my day comes, but until then, I have to believe that this is not goodbye but simply a warrior’s way of saying until next time.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “In Remembrance of My Uncle

Leave a Reply

