What’s in a Name?

 

What’s in a name?
A father’s burden, a son’s shame.
What’s in a name?
Anger attached to abandonment perceived,
I wasn’t worth living for, was the message received.
Cringing at the echoed sound of his distant memory,
Bearing the burden of the faceless void he left for me.
What’s in a name?
“I give up!” I cry, accept that which has been handed you.
Anger turns to pride, sadness into strength of steel.
No one can ever repair the way he made me feel.
Though hold fast I will to his name in fondness,
Make a space for myself, and ease my tortured conscience.
I’ll be the man he never could,
To keep on living and doing good.
I’ll make him smile in death, as in life he never could.
And I’ll make it mine.
That’s what’s in a name

Leave a Reply

