The Movie “Bully”

This isn’t usually the kind of thing I write about, so please forgive me. But it’s very difficult to watch a documentary that strings together pieces of a childhood trauma, and by the very end, see yourself reflected in that piece. For those of you that don’t know, it’s a documentary that hopes to shed light on the bullying crisis in American public schools. Be careful not to think in line with the old adage “kids will be kids.” When cruelty can follow you home, and affect the entirety of your life, and have a tremendous impact on your future… A cliché just isn’t worthy of it. It’s a movie that affected me very deeply, some of you know that I was born different. I would like to think that I became a well-adjusted adult man in spite of those trials of my childhood. But there is something about this film that rocked me to my core. It never ceases to amaze me how cruel people can be one another. And because of this, how many otherwise good people become perverse images of their former yourselves. Not that I would advocate anything illegal, but I would encourage all of you to get a hold of this documentary, and watch it together. and remember, there is still hope. Check out the trailer here:

6 thoughts on “The Movie “Bully””

  1. I can’t watch the trailer tonight. I am in “savor the silence” mode, but I am pretty sure that everyone can relate on one side or the other.

    You seem kind of well adjusted. Distant enough for it to not dominate your life, but close enough to let it influence your perspective on life.

    Maybe it is a little cynical, but I think it might already be too late. People are cruel. It’s their nature. I can be too sometimes. Technology is great, but people use it to bully others. It makes it easy because they can hide behind it too.

    Like

  2. Ok, I watched the preview. Maybe there is still hope. I don’t know, but I’m getting tired of not believing in anything. It is just a hard habit to stop. Cynicism is a lot like bitterness. It holds you.

    Like

  3. I was big for my age. I knew how to fight – hard! – and I never knew when to say ‘quit’. I was a stubborn kid in some ways (lots of them, and still are/am). But I always felt sorry for the kid when I saw someone bullying someone – and stepped in. Time after time again I was in a fight for my life (or so it seemed some of the time – and sometimes? Against a bigger kid? It was hard). But I always – ALWAYS – stepped in for the underdogs. After all, I was one myself; albeit with a big boned and huger body. Never got beaten, anyway (lol & wry smiles). But . . . seeing a kid down on the ground getting his snot beaten? – something would just come over me and I’d go in there like a locomotive; a bull, breaking them apart, and saving some smaller or young kid, or one who was “too dumb” to fight (those other kid’s words, not mine). Not an excuse to beat them up any time.

    Sounds like you got your share of pounding along the road to life. Too bad I couldn’t have stepped in – and the fact is, we need to get other kids stepping in to STOP that kind of bullying nonsense instead of cheering them on. After all, adults are the last ones in, the last ones to know. The damage is done by that point. And for that you need more than a social change; this sort of ‘preying on the young and weakest’ is engrained a bit in our chromosomes. After all, it comes with the dominance display and all – which in apes is used to determine ‘who will be boss’ later on in life. Not so true in humans, LOL, not anymore! But we need to make these kids who step up and do something feel like heros. (I never did; I usually just felt stiff and sore on the next day, or for a few hours). You’ve got to give them a social incentive to stop bullying ON THEIR OWN. Then maybe we’ll see some progress in this thing. It’s going to take some kind of ‘award’ system for sure . . . but we’ll see.

    Society and humans are slow in changing things. Kinda like politics, only worse and different. A much messier sort of thing.

    Like

  4. I agree with you 100% Jeff. Kids do need to band together and step in and stop this sort of thing. In my mind, short-term violence does have its place, like you mentioned in groups of apes, violence is often used to establish who the dominant one is in the group. But this does need to change. My situation was… A little weird. I could say that I was the one bullied, but that wouldn’t be the whole story. I was picked on frequently, and intensely for a while. I learned to fight, and being in a family that has a tradition of being martial artists help with that a lot. So, after a while I became the effective aggressor… But it was more like I would be the guy who would stand up for smaller kids being picked on. But there were also times when I knew people would have to handle their business on their own. I did a lot of fighting myself, which is weird because you wouldn’t expect it. I’m a smart guy, whose decently built, but I’m in a wheelchair. So most times people wouldn’t see me coming. After a while though, I got tired of fighting and I would use social manipulation to defuse tense situations without it. But the scars of having been someone who was picked on, and bullied stay with you for a very long time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

