On Geeks and Gamers

I was born in the early 80s, and because of that, I was mostly the product of the tech generation that came just before me. When the Nintendo first came out, I got one and I was about three or four years old. I’ve been gaming ever since. As a couple of you have pointed out, at some point at least, it’s hard to believe that someone who’s a gamer could be so… Insert your favorite word here. Here’s the thing, I grew up with video games, and other similar activities. There are huge part of who I am, but they don’t define me. I like to refer to myself as a geek with social skills, and I’m proud of that. But I like to comment a little on general geeky nature, and gamers in general.

The people of my generation were the people who are teaching ourselves HTML way before it was even considered to be a lucrative thing. I was teaching myself that stuff at around the age of 13 or 14. I knew many “geeks” who were also terrific artists, poets, or who were mathematically talented, or even athletic. The thing is, when you think geek here’s what you should be thinking… These are the people that were a part of the Internet long before we knew what it was, the people who shaped it, drove it, and helped make it popular. These people changed the world. The majority of geeks and gamers in my generation, new not only how to use a computer well, but also fix it. Most of us knew how to write some kind of code. Most of us also had other interests.

Another thing I want you to remember, is that geeky is most often synonymous with the word passionate. We are passionate about who we are, the hobbies we choose, and most often what we do for a living. We are a subculture that honest to God, drives popular culture to a large degree. The San Diego comic con used to be a place where it was all about comics. It expanded now, it’s where the big movies go to see whether or not a movie will be a success with my particular kind of crowd. Because marketers are now starting to realize that we are the ones that will make an intellectual property a success long after it leaves the silver screen. It has become not only a mecca for geeky nature, but for testing trends in popular culture. So yes, I am a geek and a gamer. And I’m proud to be that. But remember that never was all that I am.

Geek culture has changed drastically since I was born. I’ll be writing a post on that soon.

2 thoughts on “On Geeks and Gamers”

  1. I need some kind of notebook pc. I don’t know if I should just get an ipad, or even e-readers have all the internet stuff now. I just need something lightweight, good batery life, easy to link to a regular computer. I want to write, so it should have enough storage that I could write a lot, but if I can upload it easily I guess it wouldn’t matter too much. What should I get sir geek?

    Like

Leave a Reply

