Masks

Someone once said that we’re all actors on a stage,
I think he means to tell us that life is grand play.
But if I were its writer, I’d tear out many a page.
I’d rewrite it without a need for masks, It’s better that way.
All the pain we conceal and the anguish we hide,
In false smiles and happiness unreal,
In an unrealistic image we feel we must abide
Rather than searching for our own, individual royal seal.
The masks we wear are heavy, the take great strength to bear.
Just take it off, a needless accessory that one should never wear.
A product of social learning and psychic wounds,
Rather than allowing us to bask in the light and glory of our own brilliant moons.

8 thoughts on “Masks

  1. Ummm, excuse me Sage, but you should probably say hi to me every now and then. ;).

    I’m just messing with you. Kind of. I’m a little bored at the moment. Hope you are having a good day.

  2. Why do you think we wear masks? Why don’t people want to take them off? They are heavy, and useless really. Why do people get scared or angry when someone sees behind their mask? Shouldn’t it be a relief? Do you think that a person can wear a mask for so long that it becomes part of them…impossible to remove? How do you know if you are seeing true people, or just the mask they happen to be wearing?

    Food for thought…

    1. Food I’ve chewed on for awhile no, and it seems to me that we only wear masks as a service to those things we keep secret, from both others as well as ourselves. And how do we know what we’re getting? intuition.

Leave a Reply

