If I Could Explain

If I Could Explain

If I could explain
How you brought a new kind of life to my world
I would.

If I could explain
how you made me feel beautiful
I would.

If I could explain
how you gave me a piece of myself that I thought I lost
I would.

If I could explain
how you made me feel more loved than I thought I could ever be
I would.

If I could explain
how you taught me that love means loving in spite of not getting what we want
I would.

If I could explain
how every time I sit at a park underneath the night sky, I’ll crave your embrace
I would.

If I could explain
how you taught me that making others happy is what brings us closer to humanity.
I would.

If I can explain
how the very thought of you made my mistakes seem miniscule, like I could be made new
I would.

If I could explain
how you made me feel human, instead of just some mistakenly divine tool.
I would.

If I could explain
how you made me feel intelligent again, instead of simply everybody’s fool.
I would.

If I could explain
how these and many more reasons left unspoken are the reason the words “I love you” will never be enough
I would.

If I could explain
how you taught me that it was okay to need someone and not be weak
I would.

If I could explain
how you made me feel stronger, and not so much a freak
I would.

If I could explain
how I don’t give a damn if anyone else likes this or not, it was only meant for you
I would.
Oh wait, I just did.

2 thoughts on “If I Could Explain

Leave a Reply

